Back to the drawing board

The past couple of weekends I’ve spent some time beating myself up with a crochet needle (they really are very painful if you hit the pressure points… haha) and a thing of yarn that one of my cats was completely head over heels for. I’d originally started out interested in amigurumi, but moved on to less… small, detailed things (like baby hats! yeah) once we found out I was pregnant. I thought… I’ve done some easy needlepoint stuff, this can’t be that hard, can it?

*insert facepalm*

Needless to say I’m not really very good at it. Of course, practice makes perfect, but I have issues keeping my hands still and focused for extended periods of time, which kinda kills any detail-work I might want to do. (Unfortunately this applies to drawing, too.) Regardless, I’ve had some willing teachers step up and I’m really, really excited to take them up on their offer. I just want to say it’s going to be quite a challenge. (I keep wanting to take pictures of some chains I’ve done but I don’t want to embarrass myself too much, hahaha.)

Also, my mother-in-law used to knit for a living, so if I have any knitting questions I can always turn to her. I think I might just give her some patterns and let her go to town, though. She’s incredibly excited. It’s her first grandbaby, and being almost 70, it’s been a long time coming!

In any case… Hidden somewhere in my basement is a bunch of awesome cardstock playsets my mom made me when I was little. We didn’t have much money, so she took these long, flat boxes we had a ton of and made things like houses, schools, etc. all using cardstock and cardboard. I still remember how detailed they were. She’d painstakingly color each individual piece, from the folded cardstock chairs and tables to several individual little 1cm² books she made from cardboard. Thinking back on it, it makes me feel so incredibly special that my mom did that for me, and it’s something I want to do for my kiddo too. Mom also was never too good at crocheting/knitting, so she did what she could. So why shouldn’t I?

Hence the title… back to the drawing board. I think I need to bust my Copics out and start doing some paintings for the nursery. No, my art isn’t perfect (you can’t convince me, nyah nyah), but that’s not really what counts. What counts is that I made it, and I’ll be putting all my heart into it. Maybe I can even bust out my acrylics and give that another try. I mean really – the possibilities are endless, and the only thing that’s holding them back is me.

So since it’s the Year of the Rabbit (Metal Rabbit, no less!), I think some bunny drawings need to be made. :) Our nursery theme’s already forest-y (this will be on our wall, dang it! keeps taunting me…), so all things considered bunnies are a great fit. Now I just have to get over the hurdle of thinking my art is good enough. :P

 

21 weeks. More than halfway through! Man, all my pregnancy email thingies are saying “start thinking about/planning for a baby shower!!” Augh. I have no idea what I’m going to do, seriously. I have no idea if my mom’s gonna be able to (financially, or otherwise) even think about doing one. BUT REALLY. Whatever happens is okay. Baby showers… gah, I have enough shyness problems just with getting told happy birthday as it is. :P

