Is there a wrong way to have a body?

Yes, there is.

It’s when you don’t feel comfortable in your own body. Not because societal pressure, not because someone told you that you don’t look good. Not because being skinny is right. Not because being fat is wrong.

Because you want to be happy with your own body.

Why is it wrong for me not to love my body? No one should be shamed for what they look like, nor for what they want to look like. I’ve lost 50 lbs in the last six months, and I am EXTREMELY proud of myself for having done so. It’s not because I think being overweight is a horrible, horrible thing. It’s not because I want to look like a celebrity. It’s because I want to be happy, and for me “happy” is not 5’4″ and 180lbs.

I’m sorry.

There have been a lot of posts on my twitterfeed lately that have made me feel ashamed to want to lose weight. It’s gotten to a point where I’ve been deeply hurt by some things that have been mentioned. It’s not right to shame anyone, and that includes those of us that want to lose weight.

Please keep that in mind.

(This post is brief and doesn’t touch on most of the things I want to write, but I’m pretty goddamn emotionally vulnerable right now and shaking as I type this. I might expand more, I might not. But… I just want to share how I feel.)

2 thoughts on “Is there a wrong way to have a body?

Leave a Reply

