Hooked on…

When I started writing the first book, I did a lot of research on how one should go about writing a novel. It wasn’t particularly emphasized, but a big point is to catch your readers’ attention right away. And of course, it makes sense. If you don’t give readers a reason to slog through your content to get to the meat of the story, nobody is going to be interested enough to read more than a few chapters.

I edited the opening to number one a couple of times, adding a bit of length so the “hook” wasn’t so sudden. I learned a lot doing the introduction, and one I’m facing again with starting #2.

#1 started off with a one-two punch, setting up a story arc and promising further action by introducing a character that won’t be apart of the story until the future. So far, #2 seems a lot less interesting. It’s likely because I haven’t actually written new material in a while (and really, this is just the second time I’ve tried), but I don’t feel confident about how to dive into the new story. So far, it’s nothing but existing characters dealing with an existing problem, one that brings characters together. I figured this would be a good way to start off one of the story arcs, but I’m having second thoughts.

In any case, this is kind of a big glop of words now, but really, I just wanted to discuss. What’s a way a novel has started that has stood out to you? Was there a slow start that ended up being a great novel? Gimme your thoughts!

7 thoughts on “Hooked on…

  1. My favorite series starts out soooooooooooo sloooooooooooooooooowwwww. Introductions and everything. It’s boring. A lot of the novels after go over the same fucking shit the previous novel did. “This is what she did, this is why she’s here, this is what’s happening now.”

    I say start there. Those 3 points for all the characters in book 2, and see where to go from there.

    • Summarize what happened between 1 & 2, you mean? Hmmm. I want to do that for sure, but not so blatantly. Hopefully I have a fuller chapter 1 to show you tomorrow.

      • Yeah, but do it in a way that is YOUR way. You have a style of writing, and if you tried writing it any other way, it will not come out the same.

      • Agreed! (my phone lagged and I almost typed out “Reed” instead, haha)

        Now I’m concerned about making sure everyone is familiar with the story before jumping in. I’d summarize book one, but my summary would be 125k words alone ;)

      • HAHA. Lol. No no. All you REALLY need to summarize at the beginning is how they got to the point they are at now. If you need to, later in the book, you can bring up something else that reminds people of it.

        Trust me, you can do it. :3

  2. Anne Rices stuff starts out doing present-past-present things a lot. I kinda like that. I don’t know what caught me with that, but there have been CLASSIC books that I can’t get into because the characters weren’t known to me by the MIDDLE of the story.

    • Since this is a second book I’m hoping people would read #1 first, but it’s a good thought to account for people that havent read the first in a while. I’ll never get as repetitive as Charlaine Harris, though. Good god. DID YOU KNOW SOOKIE IS A WAITRESS AT MERLOTTE’S? (mentioned somewhere in book 6 or something ridiculous…)

      <3 thank you :)

      b

Leave a Reply

