Brain overboard!

I decided on a whim yesterday to take Arya to the pool. It was one of those things where I didn’t really feel like going anywhere, and then we got done with lunch and I thought, “damn I have two and a half hours of nothing to do, what the hell, let’s go swimming.” It may have also been a little bit of “oh damn, I’m allowed into the rec centers now wooooo let’s go do something!”

I can’t describe the satisfaction I got from the beep as they scanned my card, of having a conversation with the receptionist about the baby instead of being told we’re Not Allowed in the rec center. It’s been over a year since we were allowed in. We were barred because our trim needed to be painted. Everything must look just so! Don’t get me started on the hole our neighbors have in their trim. With a nest in it. Not even gonna go there.

ANYWAY. Once we were past the dreaded gatekeeper, it was actually kind of a different world. I haven’t been to a pool in years period, so being there in the middle of the day in the summer, well… that was an interesting experience all on its own. Having a baby there? That was an adventure. There were no locker rooms (that I could see, the nervous first-timer with a handful of bags and a handful of squirmy baby) so we did a magic hey-no-one-look change and we waded into the pool.

I had to drag her out kicking and screaming. LITERALLY.

It was crazy. First I took her in kinda deep, holding her on my hip where she was just kind of hanging out. Next thing I know she’s wiggling away from me and kicking her arms and legs with a huge grin on her face and happy as pie. I set her down in the inch-high end, and she just scoot-scoot-scooted her little butt deeper and deeper until she was up to her chin and even then she kept trying to go deeper. We made that trek a few times, back and fort, until the last time when she really tried to squirm out of my grasp when I tried to drag her back to the shallow end. Wriggly slippery baby slipped out of my hands and fell back, completely submerging her head.

My Mom circuits went haywire. Oh god what have I done?! She’s going to swallow a bunch of water and what am I gonna do?! At best she’s gonna be scared and never want to go in the water again! Oh shit oh shit! That was all in the half-second before I yanked her back up and hugged her to me and patted her back (whacked is more like it honestly) and stared wide-eyed at her. She looked at me with an eyebrow raised (seriously), coughed a couple of times, and tried to wiggle away from me to get back in the water.

babies.

Monday is her first swimming class. I already know she’s going to love it, and she’s gonna do so well. It’s going to go swimmingly. (Zing.)

One thought on “Brain overboard!

Leave a Reply

